Sushi Roku

TC and I bought a Groupon for Sushi Roku, an upscale sushi restaurant in Old Town Scottsdale. We decided to try it out yesterday, heading there after work.

We sat at the bar so we could enjoy Happy Hour prices, which we later discovered did not count in our Groupon. Nevertheless, I enjoyed two of their Dragonball Mojitos and we snacked on appetizers of calamari and a spicy tuna roll. The calamari was ok, nothing special, with a limey tasting dipping oil. The spicy tuna roll was easily the best one I have had. The texture and flavor was fantastic. It had just the right amount of kick without being too over the top. Previously I had never been much of a mojita fan but this one, as TC stated, tasted like candy. I would definitely like to head back there for Happy Hour again.

image

For our entree, TC chose the Popcorn Rock Shrimp Tempura in Miso Sauce while I picked the Tuna Sampler. The rock shrimp had honey spicy flavor which a nice subtle crunch. It was tasty but would have served better as an appetizer than an entree.

image

My tuna was outstanding. The tuna was prepared in three different fashions with three slices each. The first was a Pinenut Wasabi Sashimi. The wasabi flavor stood out and the texture of the tuna was soft. The second one was garnished with parmesan and truffle. Extremely delicious and the tuna seemed to melt in your mouth. This one was probably my favorite. The third consisted of what the chef told me a Wasabi Soy Ahi. I could not taste the Wasabi but the flavor was outstanding! This one was Tim’s favorite and was a close second to the Parmesan Truffle.

image

We still had some money on our Groupon left over since the Happy Hour price did not count towards the $40 we had so we decided to try some dessert. Our waitress recommended the Banana Strawberry Spring Rolls. It came with a big scoop of Vanilla Bean Ice Cream adorned with a plethora of various berries. The spring rolls were slightly hard to cut with a spoon but the strawberry banana inside was warm and not too gooey. It was a wonderful conclusion to a delicious meal.

image

While it was very expensive, the dinner was fantastic. I would go there again for Happy Hour as those prices are not bad, but I would only go for dinner if I had a Groupon solely due to the fact I am on a budget. 4.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

