AFI Top 100: No. 54 MASH

“This isn’t a hospital, it’s an insane asylum!”

Confession: I have never seen an episode of M*A*S*H*, so I honestly had no idea what to expect when watching the movie the television show was based on. I knew the show was a comedy, and it was so popular that for awhile it was the longest running sitcom, but other than that, I did not know much.

Holy cow this movie was hilarious! I couldn’t tell you the last time I laughed so hard during a movie. Hawkeye and Trapper (and Duke) were so witty and carefree. The pranks they would play on both Hot Lips and Burns were so terrible but oh so funny. The lack of regard for relationships back in the states, the lack of respect for authority, the lack of care for order mixed with the fact they were all damn good at their jobs… it was too much.

I could definitely see how this was made into a TV show as the movie could have easily been split up into four different episodes. The film was so clever, I am now tempted to start watching old episodes of M*A*S*H. Highly recommend this film.

Next up: No. 53 The Deer Hunter.

Leave a Reply

