A Reflection on the First Half of the AFI Top 100

Prior to starting this list, I have seen the following: No. 99 Toy Story, No. 94 Pulp Fiction, No. 92 Goodfellas, No. 89 The Sixth Sense, No. 86 Platoon, No. 83 Titanic, No. 77 All The President’s Men, No. 76 Forrest Gump, No. 74 Silence of the Lambs, No. 72 The Shawshank Redemption, No. 71 Saving Private Ryan, No. 66 Raiders of the Lost Ark, No. 57 Rocky, No. 56 Jaws, No. 50 Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. I am not including these movies in the awards listed below.

Favorite of the 50-100 I had not seen:

This was a hard decision… I loved North By Northwest, 12 Angry Men, Network and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. After much deliberation, I’ll give it to NXNW. Looking forward to watching a few more of Hitchcock’s films.

Biggest disappointment:

This one is easy, Blade Runner. I love Harrison Ford, and was looking forward to this movie more than most on the list. Alas, I could not get into it.

Least favorite:
Nashville. Why was that movie on this list? It was horrible.

Biggest Surprise:

Yankee Doodle Dandy. I was not expecting this movie to be memorable at all, and boy was I wrong. This was a wonderful film that I would definitely watch again.

Movies I think should be ranked much higher:
Silence of the Lambs deserves to be higher in my opinion. The acting is great and the movie is so horrifying. Of course, Raiders of the Lost Ark, needs to be much higher as well.

Movie I enjoyed but didn’t understand why it was on the list:
I did like The African Queen. It was a very cute film I plan on someday watching when I have a family. I just had no clue why it was on this list and certainly did not understand how you could rank it higher than Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Looking ahead to the next 50… I am looking forward to seeing more Hitchcock films as well as a few other classics such as The Treasure of Sierra Madre. Of course, I cannot wait for the Top 10 as well. Revisiting old favorites, such as The Wizard of Oz, ET and Star Wars will be fun as well.

3 comments

  1. Some thoughts…

    Hitchcock is great and I love NXNW (it’s my favorite Hitchcock). Butch & Sundance is one of my all-time favorites and it’s one of those films I watch whenever it’s on TV.

    I can’t believe you didn’t like Blade Runner. Did you watch the original cut or the director’s cut? A lot of people say the director’s cut is better but I like the narration of Ford.

    Nashville was definitely one of the worst films on the list of the ones I’ve seen so far. What a piece of crap!

    Yankee Doodle Dandy was great, but a little too long.

    The African Queen is a good film, but not a great film. The reason it is so high on the list and why it won a lot of awards is because it was late in the careers of both Bogart and Hepburn and voters are sentimental.

    I’m right behind you on the list so I’m looking forward to more of your reviews…

    1. I really wanted to like Blade Runner (I watched the director’s cut). I just could not get into it. I thought the concept and story was interesting, but that it was poorly executed. I’m not saying I absolutely hated it, but I was heavily disappointed by it. There is a good chance my expectations were too high as well.

      Nashville was horrible. I usually like black comedies but this one missed the mark completely. Looking forward to seeing your thoughts as we go on as well. 🙂

      1. I agree completely on Blade Runner. It has aged very poorly.

Leave a Reply

