AFI Top 100: No. 40 The Sound of Music

Afternoons at my Grandma Jaeckels’s were spent doing arts and crafts and watching movies featuring Shirley Temple or Julie Andrews. I have many fond memories watching and singing along with The Sound of Music with my cousin, so I must admit I have a soft spot in my heart for this film and, similar to Raiders of the Lost Ark, had a huge, dorky grin on my face throughout the film. Although Tim’s grandmother used to play the records from the musical at her house when he was a child, he has somehow never watched the movie. Due to this, I promised him I would try not to sing during the songs, so he can actually enjoy the music. As a result, I found myself getting teary-eyed when every song started. EVERY SONG. I couldn’t believe it.

Some people may criticize the film as too sugary sweet but we all need a film like that in our lives. The story of the von Trapp family is certainly stretched and altered, but the movie is beautiful in so many aspects. The music is absolutely timeless, I haven’t watched this movie in years and still knew the words to every song. The set is lovely and the characters are wonderful. It is a story of family love, heartbreak, the drive to do what is right, and is, to this day, the perfect family movie. When I have children someday, you can bet they will be watching, and singing, The Sound of Music.

It is hard for me to pick a favorite song, but the one I have been singing since the movie ended yesterday was Edelweiss, so here you go:

Next Up: No. 39 Dr. Strangelove

Leave a Reply

