AFI No. 39 Dr. Strangelove


I love a good political satire. One of my all-time favorite books is “Thank You for Smoking” and Dr. Strangelove: Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love the Bomb was similarly enjoyable. After how freaked out I was after the other Kubrick film we watched (A Clockwork Orange), I was slightly worried about this one, but found myself chuckling throughout the film. Dr. Strangelove was extremely clever and still relatable to today.

The characters were completely over the top and fabulous. The names were hilarious (Jack D. Ripper? Dimitri Kisov? Brilliant). I loved the rant from Ripper on the fluoride conspiracy and the blindness caused by American nationalism of Buck Turgidson (another great name). I mean a doomsday occurrence is about to happen and good ol’ Buck is just proud as a peacock that his men can make it happen. Playing three roles, Peter Sellers was tremendous. I was laughing so hard at the “alien hand” of Dr. Strangelove. Finally, the image of Major T. J. “King” Kong riding the atomic bomb at the end is one of those perfect movie images.

I love the fact this movie caused Congress to review and adjust a few policies. As outrageous as a movie like this may seem, parts of it could definitely come true. The arts can truly influence and force one to think outside the box, and that is something we could all use.

Next Up: The Treasure of Sierra Madre

One comment

Leave a Reply

