AFI Top 100: No. 35 Annie Hall


About a year ago, Tim and I saw “Midnight in Paris,” which was up until a few days ago the only Woody Allen movie I had watched. While Tim didn’t care much for it, I liked it and was looking forward to watching “Annie Hall.”

I’m not going to lie, I enjoyed the awkwardness of Woody Allen’s characters in “Annie Hall.” We have all had and can relate to the exchange between Annie and Alvy after their tennis match and have been in relationships that just felt forced… The acting by Diane Keaton is spot on, I felt like I was watching a friend try to hit on a guy than watching a movie.

My only major gripe about the film was the non-linear design. Generally, I like that style but there were times I was a bit confused at which wife was which. Overall though, Annie Hall was cute and enjoyable. I would recommend it to someone looking for a different sort of romantic comedy.

Next Up: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.

One comment

  1. Jen,

    Annie Hall is probably my favorite film of all time so I’m glad you liked it. There are so many subtle and amazing lines in the film it’s worth watching multiple times to catch them all. It did, of course, win Best Picture in 1977 and although it may feel a little dated to someone your age…for me it holds up and I watch it every chance I get. I dare you to order a plate of mashed yeast next time you’re at a restaurant in LA!

    Len

Leave a Reply

