AFI Top 100: No. 34 Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs


Disney’s Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs forever changed the childhood of the American girl. Nearly every girl has at one point in their youth dreamed of being a “Disney Princess.” (Myself, I always wanted to be Belle. To this day I remain jealous of her library.) Disney’s very first cartoon feature (Steamboat Willie was a short) has made such an impact on people’s lives around the world and sparked generations of Disney-raised kids. I cannot imagine my childhood without movies like The Little Mermaid or The Lion King in them.

In 1987, Snow White was rereleased in the theaters and it was the first movie I watched on the big screen. I have a memory of it too, and it may be one of my first memories. I can visualize seeing the dwarfs singing Hi-Ho on the big screen…

Back to the movie. Not only is it a classic due to its landmark status, but it is a classic due to the enjoyable nature of the film. The little touches are what make this movie so wonderful. The turtle who is always slightly late to the party, the nose and tails of the bunnies twitching, the dwarfs noses peeking over the bed, the birds tying the cape… all of these small details just add so much to the film.

Not only is the movie itself revolutionary, but the music was too. This was the first movie to have its soundtrack sold as a record. While it has been years since I had last watched this, I still found myself singing along to every song and I know I’m not the only one who remembers the tunes.

I’m sure most of you have seen Snow White at least in one point in your life. If it’s been awhile, maybe add it to your Netflix que and take a trip down memory lane.

Next Up: the very opposite of Snow White, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Leave a Reply

