AFI Top 100: No. 31 The Maltese Falcon


As I mentioned in my previous post, I am way behind on my blogs. Tim and I watched The Maltese Falcon nearly a month ago so don’t expect this to be the greatest review of all time. Imagine a detective story from the 1940s. Are you picturing the lead in a trench coat and fedora? Is he a fast talker? Does he flirt with every woman he sees? Then you have captured the image of Sam Spade to a T!

To be frank, I didn’t think this movie was anything special. I didn’t feel connected to any of the characters and while parts of the storyline were exciting, it did drag a bit. The whole love story between Spade and the woman (I can’t even remember her name) seemed forced. While I probably wouldn’t watch it again, I didn’t hate it.

Next Up: No. 30 Apocalypse Now.

Leave a Reply

