Trail Ride in the San Tans

Despite growing up on cattle farm and a love for animals, Tim has never been horseback riding. So when I saw the Groupon for trail rides, I knew I had the perfect Valentine’s Day gift for my husband.

Tim and I with one of the horses.

Tim and I with one of the horses.

We met our guide, Matt from MD Ranch, at the trailhead at the San Tan Mountain Regional Park. It was quite the drive out there, about 45 minutes from our house in Tempe, and entrance to the park cost $6 per vehicle. After meeting with Matt, Tim and I picked our horses. I chose Bailey, a salt and pepper paint, and Tim rode Senator, chestnut colored stallion. We then took off for the trails!

San Tan Valley

The views were gorgeous, and the valley was fairly green due to recent rain. The grounds were speckled with several magnificent saguaros. With the mountains in the background and a semi cloudy day, it was the perfect setting for an old Western. Matt gave us a great deal of information about the fascinating history of the park and about horses in general.

San Tan Mountains

If you are looking for something different to do around the Valley, I would definitely recommend taking a trail ride with MD Ranch. The scenery was beautiful, the horses were friendly and it was an amazing day.

Leave a Reply

