AFI Top 100: No. 20 It’s A Wonderful Life

It's a wonderful life

I’m not going to lie, I like Frank Capra’s movies. Yes they are simple and yes they always have a happy ending, but don’t we all need a movie to give us hopes and smiles at times?

It’s A Wonderful Life is a Christmas staple in my household and my dad’s favorite movie. It makes me cry, smile, laugh and I always feel thankful for the life I live at the end of it. Like George Bailey, I figured at this point in my life I would have traveled and seen the world, or at least been to Europe. As happy as I am for them, I have felt down when I see friends who have more money or are more successful and it can be frustrating to know not all of my dreams will be realized. What “It’s A Wonderful Life” reminds us we should not dwell on what we don’t have, but rather what we do have.

The film is truly an enjoyable one. As always, James Stewart is fantastic. You can feel every emotion of George Bailey, whether it be disappointment, anger, joy or sadness. There are so many memorable scenes and lines, such as the pool opening at the dance, the George and Mary’s “honeymoon” and of course little Zuzu and her petals. I know some people find the first half of the movie boring but I think that is where the film truly shines. It shows the beauty of an every-day, normal life, one we should not take for granted…

Finally we’ve reached the top 20! Maybe we actually will finish this in 2013…

Leave a Reply

