TRAVELS: Cave Tubing & Zip Lining

“Are you going to go cave tubing?” – This was the first question asked to us after we mentioned our Belize honeymoon plans. With so many people highly recommending it, we had to add it to our list of things to do! There was an option to add zip lining along with the cave tubing, which was an added bonus.

We took on the zip lines first. The course we were at had eight lines and are in the process of building two more. The chattering of howler monkeys heightened the mood as we put on our gear and prepared to swing through the forest. Many of the lines were attached to platforms, but there were a few that required a short hike. I had an up and close encounter with the wildlife as a spider the size of my palm (no joke) ran across my foot during one of the hikes! I felt it on my shoe but didn’t see it until it was well off of it, apparently it was just crossing the path and my foot happened to be its way! I have never been so thankful to be wearing tennis shoes in my life. The lines themselves were fast and our guides were fantastic, friendly and funny. My favorite was one where we went between two trees, you truly felt like Tarzan!

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Tim is off!

Tim is off!

Weee!!

Weee!!

It was time for cave tubing! To reach the launch site, we crossed the river, walked in our water shoes over rock and hiked through the jungle for about 20 minutes while carrying our tubes. The entrance was a stunning emerald pool with vines and branches dipping down into the mouth of the cave.

Ready to Tube!

Ready to Tube!

Entrance to the caves

Entrance to the caves

We boarded our tubes and our guides roped our tubes together. With the light of our headlamps guiding us, we entered the cave. Shortly after we were in, the guides instructed us to turn the lamps off. Darkness surrounded us. The sound of bats filled our ears as soon we turned the lamps back on. Overtime, nature created beautiful carvings throughout the cave walls and a few small waterfalls rushed to the side of us as we continued to slowly float. As you can imagine, the lighting was terrible and there weren’t any useable photos.

Here we go

Here we go

Inside the Cave

Inside the Cave

Exiting one of the caves

Exiting one of the caves

As beautiful as the caves were, I enjoyed the portion where we were surrounded by the jungle the best. These photos, I have do not come close to doing its beauty justice.

Enjoying our ride

Enjoying our ride

The beautiful, peaceful jungle

The beautiful, peaceful jungle

Cave tubing was fun, but I think it was overhyped for us a bit. Like any other Sun Devil, I did tube down the Salt River in my college years occasionally and aside from the cave and the jungle, this didn’t feel that much different.  Tim and I both like a bit more adventure and I think we were both envisioning a ride with more rapids. When I return to Belize someday, I plan on doing the ATM cave tour instead. Regardless, it was still a great time and I would recommend it, especially if you have never been tubing.

Leave a Reply

