Beat the Heat: Head to Hills

The Snyder family in Show Low!

The Snyder family in Show Low!

After living here for nearly a decade, I can say without hesitation that Arizona is one of the most beautiful states. The image most people have is the desert (with the Grand Canyon smack in the middle of the heat) but the truth is the state is so diverse. Sedona and Flagstaff (and of course the Grand Canyon) are the best-known cooler places in the state but to the east lies the White Mountains, a location I had yet to visit in my 10 years in Arizona.

These iPhone photos do not do the ride justice

These iPhone photos do not do the ride justice

This changed two weekends ago as my brother and his fiancé Christina invited us to her family cabin in Show Low. It’s about a three hour drive from Gilbert and what a drive it was! We drove through mountains, past old mining towns and, most exciting, down and up a canyon! It was one of the most beautiful drives I have been on and the time seemed to fly by as Tim and I took in the landscape.

Taking in the beautiful morning

Taking in the beautiful morning

We arrived and the dogs were so excited to see each other! Archie and my brother’s dog Buddha are BFFs and will play pretty much non stop and they kept at it pretty much all weekend.

Photo Jul 20, 4 08 03 PM

The weekend was full of Yahtzee and Farkle, wine and delicious homemade food, and the scent of pine and rains. We went for walks around their property and neighborhood, marveling at the tall pines and clean air.

Photo Jul 31, 10 14 47 AM

What an athletic husband I have!

What an athletic husband I have!

I went on two runs that weekend. Adjusting to the altitude the first mile was brutal both times. Unlike Gilbert, Show Low is incredibly hilly making my six-miler amazing and brutal simultaneously. I wish I see such amazing views every morning I run but for now I’ll settle for monsoon sunrises.

View on my run

View on my run

Show Low was absolutely beautiful and the perfect escape from the brutal Phoenix summer heat. Unfortunately for us (and fortunately for them), Christina’s parents sold their cabin. Despite that, I’m sure we’ll visit the White Mountains again next year.

Leave a Reply

