AFI Top 100: No. 9 Vertigo

vertigo

All good things must come to an end and I am sad to say this was the last Hitchcock film on our Top 100 list. Hitchcock films have been a pure joy and one of the reasons I am grateful we started on this AFI journey.

Vertigo, like every Hitchcock film on the list, was fantastic. I think Rear Window is still my favorite of the ones we watched but the shocking twists Vertigo took throughout the film were nothing to scoff at. There were a few moments that dragged, or seemed completely unrealistic, but for the most part this was a highly enjoyable film. Hitchcock is brilliant at creating flawed characters and James Stewart delivered another powerful performance as the former detective suffering from acrophobia. Kim Novak’s role(s) were decent but nothing compared to Stewart. Her forced transformation was one of the creepiest things I have ever watched in a movie. I don’t want to divulge too many details but Stewart’s forcefulness in that certainly made me squirm in my seat.

The acting wasn’t the only thing stunning about Vertigo, the scenery was magnificent as well. Taking place in one of the world’s most beautiful cities, San Francisco, and highlight it’s surrounding natural beauty had to have been awe-inspiring to those who had not visited. I know my own husband was impressed and it made him more excited to go this upcoming spring.

While I’m disappointed I don’t have another Hitchcock film to look forward to on our AFI voyage, it has inspired me to add some of his other famous works to our Netflix queue.

Up next: No 8 Schindler’s List

Leave a Reply

