Race Recap: The Night Run

NightAlFull confession, I have not been running consistently since my half marathon. I’ll go for a run somewhere between 2-3 times a week but they are generally no more than four miles. Knowing this, I went into the Night Run with zero expectations except to have a good time!

The Night Run is held in Old Town (ish) Scottsdale and for the first time, the route changed to a 10k after being an 8k for several years. The 10k race, which is what I signed up for, is two laps near the downtown area. Had I realized it was two laps, I would probably signed up for the 5k but oh well. The race started at the Civic Center (side note: Scottsdale’s Civic Center is STUNNING) and took you through the Scottsdale Greenbelt. The Greenbelt portion was my favorite, even though it was a bit tight. It had hills, a lake to run around and a tunnel to go through, what more could you ask for? After the Greenbelt, the rest of the route was on city streets. The worst portion of the route was the dip on Goldwater. I didn’t mind the fact that it was a steep downhill followed by a quick climb so much as the fact it was super nightrungeardark in the tunnel and they only had one lane closed so traffic was right next to you. Plus, my Runkeeper went berzerk in the tunnel and clocked me at an ungodly pace.

Participants of the Night Run received a white tech tee, glowsticks and a glow-in-the-dark medal. I was pleasantly surprised to see the white tech tee, I have so many random colored ones that it was nice to get a white shirt. The glow-in-the-dark medal was fun, charming and unique for a run. I have to commend the race organizers on adding the QR code to find results! I’m usually not the biggest QR code fan but this was the perfect opportunity to use one. The Night Run also has their own mascot (Night Al) who I was obsessed with! He gave me a high five during the race.

Night RunThe race for me went ok. I went out like a bat out of hell before realizing I was running six miles not three. The 5k and the 10k starts together at the same time, so it took a minute to get my pace right. I was fairly consistent, although much slower than Pat’s Run, after that until about the last mile and a half. I slowed down quite a bit at that point and needed water. It was nearly 90 degrees at race time and desert does not cool down much after the sun goes down. I had a girl pass me around the 10k mark and finally my competitive spirt kicked in. I don’t think I have ran that fast since high school but I made sure to pass that girl and a few more as I sprinted to the finish line. I finished at 57:30, a 9:16 minute mile pace, which is well off my 10k PR.

Running a night race was odd and to be honest, I did not care for it that much. All day, I kept thinking “is it ok if I eat this?” “am I hydrated enough?” “will I be sore from doing this?” It is so much easier to wake up and go than it is to wait all day. I will say, it was hilarious to walk around Old Town Scottsdale to get a beer after in our race clothes, bibs and medal. We definitely got way more attention than any girls dressed to the nines! haha

Despite this, the Night Run was fun. If a group of my friends or co-workers want to do it again, I’ll be more than happy to and would recommend it to others to run.

Next race: Arizona Sunrise Series No. 4 (5k)

January race: Spay Pride Parade 5k

February race: Lost Dutchman 10k

March race: Phoenix Half Marathon

April race: Pat’s Run and Girls on the Run

2 comments

  1. Nice race – wow, 90 degrees is hot!!

  2. […] 10k March race: Phoenix Half Marathon April race: Pat’s Run and Girls on the Run May race: The Night Run 10k June race: Sunrise Series No. 4 – Water Ranch Park […]

Leave a Reply

