I’m Back!

Awesome medal and shirt from Startline Racing!

Awesome medal and shirt from Startline Racing!

Well hello there! I know, it’s been forever. The past five months (wow!) have been a whirlwind with lots of highs and unfortunately several lows…

My running has been pretty up and down. I went through a slump most of the summer and had a very hard time get up early enough to run in the morning. Additionally, I took six weeks off of running due to a family emergency, a two and a half week international vacation and an awful cold I got upon returning from said vacation. As you can imagine, my times have significantly dropped. For a bit there this was making my return to running even harder. Rather than feeling determined to get back into it, I was feeling down and bummed out. It took a race to get me back into it and to reevaluate my goals. I’m now feeling good and focusing on consistency and distance rather than speed.

AZ Summer SeriesI’ve ran a few races since my last recap in July: Arizona Road Racers Summer Series No. 5 (August); Start Line Racing Running on the Links Troon North (September); Mesa Turkey Trot (November) and the Hot Chocolate 15k (December). I’ll recap the Turkey Trot and the Hot Chocolate 15k in separate posts but since it’s been so long with the other two they’ll get short mentions here 🙂

In early August, I ran my first Arizona Road Racer event. August is not a popular race month in Arizona as you can imagine and it was incredibly hot that morning. The 5k took place at South Mountain, which is beautiful but had zero shade over the 3.1 miles. The course was an out and back and my splits were all over the place. I finished in 29:23, averaging 9:28 a mile. The Start Line Racing events may have been slightly more expensive but I preferred their races over the Arizona Road Racing ones. Start Line Racing events are smaller but still give you a medal and shirt. You don’t get much with the Arizona Road Racer events and it did not feel as personal as the others.

Running on the Links - Troon North

Running on the Links – Troon North

I was back running a Start Line Racing event in September. This one took place at Troon North, a beautiful golf course in North Scottsdale, as part of their Running on the Links series. It was easily the hardest race I have ever done! It was all hills! I ran the 8k portion, finishing in 52:16 and second overall in my age group thanks to the small field. I can’t express how much I love Start Line Racing events, they really take good care of their runners. The medal was beautiful and they recently added women’s shirts after asking for recommendations on their Facebook page.

The 8k was my last run for six weeks and I am so happy to finally be getting back on track.

 

Leave a Reply

