RACE RECAP: Mesa Turkey Trot

Hanging out with the turkey post race!

Hanging out with the turkey post race!

After running Beast to Feast with my sisters-in-law last Thanksgiving, I knew I wanted to start my Turkey Day with a race again this year! Mesa holds Arizona’s oldest Turkey Trot and since I live in the Southeast Valley, it was the most convenient (until I found out later that Gilbert had a free Turkey Trot that day, whoops!). My co-worker Traci decided to sign up as well and so did my friend Sam who was in town from Nashville.

Sam and I

Sam and I

Sam picked up my packet for me. It contained a nice tech shirt but unfortunately they were only men’s sizes so it was quite large on me. I liked the color though and it is soft enough to make a great sleeping shirt. There was not much else in the packet. The morning of the race, I picked up Sam early. There weren’t a ton of directions about where to park or signage of where exactly the race began in the park, but we found a good spot in the neighborhood. While we found the finish line immediately, it took us forever to find the starting line and people kept pointing us in the wrong direction. We had plenty of time to hang out before the race though and eventually found the starting line.

There are a ton of people in this race, making a great vibe. I ran the entire race with Sam and it was great to catch up with her. The 10k was a flat lap and a half around Red Mountain Park and Red Mountain High School. It was unseasonably warm that day and the race didn’t start until 9 a.m. The first water station wasn’t ready for the parade of runners, but the following stations were able to get organized by the time we reached them. There was very little shade throughout the run but it did have beautiful views of the mountains while running.

Traci and I

Traci and I

The end of the race was a bit of a mess. They were out of water by the time Sam and I reached the aid tent and luckily we were able to find a water fountain in the park. The race organizers eventually had to use a hose to fill water cups for the participants. There were oranges but not much else available for the participants.

I don’t know if I’ll run this race again, especially if Gilbert has a free 5k on Thanksgiving. I was pretty disappointed with how disorganized it was, especially considering it was its 45th year. Hopefully they can at least figure out the water situation next year.

Next Up: Hot Chocolate 15k

Leave a Reply

