26.2 is Happening Tomorrow!

Phoenix_Marathon

Holy crap. The day is nigh. Tomorrow at 6:30 a.m., I will be starting my 26.2 mile journey at the Phoenix Marathon.

Today is a strange day. I honestly don’t know how to feel right now. Part of me is at peace. I put my miles in. I’ve been doing well on my long runs. The other part is terrified. I have to run (at least) an hour longer than my longest run. I didn’t run anymore than 4.5 miles during my weekday runs. I didn’t strength train or stretch enough.

But what can we do? The time is here and regardless of how well prepared I am, the race will be happening tomorrow.

I have a few goals going in to tomorrow. They say you should set an A, B and C goal. Ultimately I just want to finish the damn thing and become a marathoner. That in itself is an accomplishment. I know myself though and I know in addition to finishing I want to finish well and not to leave the race thinking I could have done better. My B goal is to finish in 5 hours. That’s averaging an 11:26 minute mile, which is something I should be able to handle; however, people say the marathon is a special type of beast.

If I’m being completely honest with myself, the big goal I want to hit is my A goal – finish under 4:30. That’s averaging about a 10:17 minute mile. My worst 20 miler was an average of 10:15 and it was pretty much in the middle of a warm day – not an ideal running time. My best averaged 9:52. But since we’re being honest – that time does not count me stopping to fill up my water bottle, stopping at some street lights, or taking some other small break.

Right now, my plan is to stick with the 4:25 minute pacer for as long as I can. Sticking with a pacer worked really well for me at the Rock N Roll and would have worked well at last year’s Phoenix Half Marathon.

The weather has been all over the place this week. It may rain and it’s supposed to be 56* at race time, which is a bit warm. After last year’s rain, I learned one thing – wear capris.

Well here goes nothing! Cheers and good luck to all running!

One comment

  1. […] I mentioned in my previous post, my plan going into the race was to stick with the 4:25 pacer. There are not corrals in the Phoenix […]

Leave a Reply

